legacy of 0years Encouraging English writing in sri lanka

Gratiaen Prize Short List Announced

Veiw the list

Main Award will be announced

on 9 June 2019

The Gratiaen Trust was founded in 1993 by Michael Ondaatje, the internationally renowned novelist, poet and essayist of Sri Lankan origin. It was funded with the prize money Ondaatje obtained when his novel The English Patient co-won the prestigious Booker Prize in 1992. Named after Ondaatje’s maternal family, the mandate of the Gratiaen Trust is to promote and recognize creative writing in English by Sri Lankan authors who are resident in Sri Lanka, promote and recognize translations into English of Sinhala and Tamil language creative writing by Sri Lankan authors resident in Sri Lanka, publish translations between Sinhala and Tamil language writing to foster cross-ethnic relations within Sri Lanka, and advance the international recognition of Sri Lankan creative writing.

Our upcoming Events

Gratiaen Award 2018


The Gratiaen Prize, which was instituted by Michael Ondaatje in 1992 with the money he received as joint-winner of the Booker Prize for his novel The English Patient, is awarded annually to the best work of literary writing in English by a resident Sri Lankan.

Join Event

Recent Award Winners

Jean Arasanayagam

The Life Of The Poet

winner 2017 for Gratiaen Prize

Charulatha Abesekara


winner 2016 for Gratiaen Prize

Thiyagaraja Arasanayagami

White Lanterns: Wesak 2011

winner 2015 for Gratiaen Prize

Our Events